Mikhail Kollontay
composer, pianist





'Praise to Virgin Mary'

Fourteen Hymns (Second String Quartet)

   Browse OneDrive® folder of this work (score, audio, documents)

op.22 (1988)

Dedication: to Pelagia M. Zlygostyeva

2 V-ni, V-la, V-c; in final movement also (ad libitum any elements or all of them together): percussions (Cassa, Piatto sospeso, Triangolo - 1 artist) behind the stage, three trumpets in the balcony, light effect

I. Te Hupermacho stratego
II. Blepousa he Hagia heauten en hagneia
III. Dunamis tou Hupsistou
IV. Zalin endothen echon logismon
V. Theodromon Astera
VI. Kerukes theoforoi
VII. Mellontos Sumeonos
VIII.Ksenon tokon idontes
IX. Pasa fusis Aggelon
X. Sosai thelon ton kosmon
XI. Humnos hapas hettatai
XII. Charin dounai thelesas
XIII.Prelude. O panumnete Meter
XIV. Fugue. Aggelos protostates

Theatralization: a moderate one is necessary

Duration: 51′

Performance: - State Shostakovich Quartet: Andery Shishlov, Sergey Pishchugin, Alexander Galkovsky, Alexander Korchagin, Moscow, about 1989.

Extra info
The "titles" of movements are the first words of Acathistus to Virgin Mary, no need to translate them into any languages for posters. If use, it's necessary to print by original Greek characters.

score: партитура: Михаил Ермолаев-Коллонтай / Mikhail Yermolaev-Kollontay / Похвала / Praise / Четырнадцать гимнов / Fourteen Hymns / (Второй квартет) / (Second Quartet) / Первый квартет / First Quartet / Четыре миниатюры / Four Miniatures / для двух скрипок, альта и виолончели / for two violins, viola and cello / партитура / score М.: Издательское объединение "Композитор" // Kompozitor Publishers, 1994.
record: USSR Radio Broadcast (live)

back to selected work list


Mikhail Kollontay, 2008-2019